17th July 2024

The science of earthquakes


The earth is divided into three layers: the upper crust, the middle mantle and the innermost core. The upper crust is made of solid plates, called tectonic plates. Some plates are under the ocean too. The mantle is semi solid and the tectonic plates slide over the mantle, causing an earthquake. Every year over one million earthquakes shake the earth.

Leave a Reply