17th June 2024

The many gates of the city of Delhi


The gates of the walled city of Delhi were built by different rulers at different times. Delhi is an aggregate of nine cities. In the seventh city built by Shah Jahan, there were 14 gates. However, there are only five gates that are standing today. These are Ajmeri Gate facing Ajmer in Rajasthan; Lahori Gate facing Lahore in Pakistan; Kashmiri Gate pointing North to Kashmir; Delhi Gate with a road leading to earlier cities of Delhi and Turkman Gate named after the saint Hazrat Shah Turkman.

Leave a Reply